CAAHEP Accredited
24 seats
Indiana University School of Medicine — Indianapolis
Anesthesiologist assistant (CAA) program in Indianapolis, Indiana · CAA practice status in Indiana →
Last verified
Program Overview & Admissions
- Degree & Length
- Master of Science in Anesthesia (MSA)
- 28 months duration
- Cohort Seats
- 24 seats
- Program page: Class of 2027 entering cohort enrolled 24 students; prior cohorts ranged 12-22
- Starts & Deadline
- Starts: August
- CASAA: Feb 26, 2027
- Estimated Tuition
- $95,554
- Approx. total program tuition, Indiana resident: 7 semesters x $13,650.64; excludes university fees (not stated on page (accessed 2026-08))
- Out-of-state: $120,167
Testing Requirement: GRE or MCAT required, taken within 3 years of matriculation; GRE verbal/quantitative below 40th percentile and MCAT below 499 not accepted.
Shadowing: 8 hours required source ↗
Admissions Statistics
Compare All Programs →Class of 2027 matriculants
| Average GPA (cumulative) | 3.81 program publishes averages back to the Class of 2021 at the source |
| Average GPA (science) | 3.8 |
| Average MCAT | 510 |
| Average GRE | Verbal 71st percentile · Quant 59th percentile |
Source: IU School of Medicine MSA — Admission Requirements (program averages) · verified Aug 17, 2026
Only figures the program or a cited public source has published appear here. A missing number means it isn't published — not that it's zero.
Prerequisite Coursework
Compare All Programs →- Biology I
- Biology II
- Human Anatomy
- Human Physiology
- General Chemistry I (with lab)
- General Chemistry II (with lab)
- Organic Chemistry I (with lab)
- Organic Chemistry II (with lab)
- Physics I (with lab)
- Physics II (with lab)
- Statistics
Published Outcomes
| Metric | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| NCCAA first-attempt pass rate | 98.2% | 2023-2025 |
| NCCAA cumulative pass rate | 100% | 2023-2025 |
| Job placement rate | 100% | 2023-2025 |
| Retention rate | 94% | 2023-2025 |
Program Notes
The cohort has grown from 12-22 in prior years to 24 for the Class of 2027. IU publishes a March 11 to February 28 application window, but the CASAA portal itself closes February 26, 2027, so that is the effective deadline. Competitive GPA guidance is 3.7+, eight shadowing hours are required, and the three-year GRE/MCAT window is stricter than most peers. The program runs seven semesters; the tuition page does not state its academic year.